Unit Staff

Capt Hertel

COMMANDING OFFICER, NORTH CAROLINA PIEDMONT CONSORTIUM

CAPT Andrew Hertel, a native of Clarendon Hills, IL, graduated from the University of Illinois in 1994 with a Bachelors of Science in Cell and Structural Biology. He was commissioned in May 1994 via the Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps program. He also holds a Master of Business Administration from Troy University.

A career submarine officer, his sea tour include division officer in USS TENNESSEE (SSBN 734) BLUE, Navigator and Operations Officer in USS GREENEVILLE (SSN 772), Executive Officer in USS NORTH CAROLINA (SSN 777), and Command of USS TEXAS (SSN 775). He deployed in both the Atlantic and Pacific areas of responsibility.

Ashore, CAPT Hertel served as Shift Engineer and Staff Training Officer at Nuclear Power Training Unit, Charleston, as Director of the Submarine Analysis Group at US Pacific Command Joint Intelligence Operations Center, as Personnel Policies Officer at Submarine Force Headquarters in Norfolk, VA, and as Commanding Officer of Naval Submarine Training Center Pacific.  He also served as Director of the Commander’s Initiatives Group at COMSEVENTHFLT in Yokosuka, Japan, embarked on USS BLUE RIDGE (LCC-19).

He assumed command of the North Carolina Piedmont Consortium NROTC unit in June 2019. 

CAPT Hertel has had the privilege of serving on teams to be awarded the Joint Meritorious Unit Award, the Navy Unit Commendation, the  Meritorious Unit Commendation, and the Battle 'E' Award.

 

Major Arguello

 

EXECUTIVE OFFICER, NORTH CAROLINA PIEDMONT CONSORTIUM

Major Michael Arguello, United States Marine Corps

 

 

 

 

lieutenant emblem

 

LIEUTENANT ADVISORS

Lieutenant David Heider, Naval Aviator, david.heider@duke.edu

Lieutenant Levi Blackwell, Naval Flight Officer, levi.blackwell@duke.edu

 

 

officer emblem

 

MARINE OFFICER INSTRUCTOR

Captain Shannon Stanich, shannon.stanich@duke.edu

ASSISTANT MARINE OFFICER INSTRUCTOR

Gunnery Sergeant Robert Weinhardt, robert.weinhardt@duke.edu

 

logo

 

COMMAND SECRETARY

Mr. Daryl Thomas, dlthomas@duke.edu

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

Mr. Tommy Thompson, tommy.thompson@duke.edu